Thursday, October 19, 2006

United up for several awards.

Coming as no surprise to any DC United supporter, but several United players have been named to the short lists for several MLS awards.

Christian Gomez was named as one of the three finalists for the Honda MLS MVP. Jeff Cunningham from Real Salt Lake and Dwayne De Rosario from the Houston Dynamo were also named. I have to say that this is truly down to De Rosario and Gomez. Cunningham had a great season and did lead the league in goals, but he did fade at the end of the season. De Rosario and Gomez were still giving 100% at the end. Gomez however was the only brightspot for United, and showed just how important he is to the club. Gomez should be lifting the Honda MLS MVP award.

Bozilla was named a finalist for MLS Defender of the Year. Jose Burciaga Jr. and Jimmy Conrad, both from Kansas City were also named in this group. I don't see Conrad getting the call here. He was gone for the World Cup, came back and had an own goal and a red card. He was then on the receiving end of a Deuce elbow that broke his jaw and put him on the shelf for the rest of the season if I am not correct. Jose Burciaga Jr. is a dark horse in this race, as Kansas City's defense wasn't a sparkling display of solidity in the league. Then again, United's defense utterly failed during the last two matches of the season and are the weakest link going into the playoffs. That said, I do think that Bozilla will collect this award.

Peter Nowak was named as a finalist for Coach of the Year. As was Dave Sarachan from Chicago and Bob Bradley over at Chivas USA. Sorry Coach, but despite winning the Supporters Shield and the Some Star performance, Senior Bradley at Chivas USA will take this one. He took the absolute worst club ever in MLS history and remade them into a force in the West. I have a strong feeling that Chivas might even make the MLS Cup finals. Bob Bradley will pick up this award.

Head Gear was listed as a finalist for Comeback Player of the Year award. Richard Mulrooney from FC Dallas and Chris Armas of Chicago were also named as finalists. Alecko definitely has returned from the concussion that Matt Reis gave him last season, but the leg injury did hamper him at the end of the season. Richard Mulrooney was a part of the FC Dallas club that won the Western Conference, but without the work of Kenny Cooper and Carlos Ruiz, FCD wouldn't have won their Conference. Chris Armas will take this award. He was the field general that organized the Chicago defense and was their enforcer. They are one of the top two clubs in the East (and no, United are not the other one) and they have already picked up the USOC this season. Sorry Head Gear, but if you didn't go out to the leg injury and scored maybe 4 more goals this season, this would be your award, but little Armas in Chicago gets this one.

Troy Perkins rounds out the United players nominated as finalists this year, as he is a finalist for the Goalkeeper of the Year. Joe Cannon of Colorado and Matt Reis of New England were also named as finalists. Both of these guys had good seasons, Reis having a better one than Cannon, but Troy gets this award due to his situation. He is a second year player who at the beginning of the season, did not show that he deserved to start, but due to Rimando's injury, was thrust into the goal mouth. Those who grab opportunity by the horns, make the most of them. Perkins was no different. He was absolutely awesome this season. Yes he had some growing pains, but overall, Troy was the best keeper in the league, and will take this award.

The Goalkeeper of the Year award will be announced later today, so we will see if I am right or not.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Office Depot Coupons
Office Depot